Ninth Annual Dinner for Western Civilization Benefitting the Intercollegiate Studies Institute

Thursday, October 23, 2014 Featuring keynote speaker Peter Thiel
Venue TDB

More info to come.

The information below describes the 2013 Dinner for Western Civilization. Check back later for details on this year's event.

Preston A. Wells Jr. Leadership Award

A devoted ISI supporter and trustee, Preston A. Wells Jr. (1923–2003) served his country in the United States Marine Corps in World War II, fighting valiantly at Iwo Jima. As manager of engineering and production for Quaker Oats and cofounder of the Las Olas Company of Palm Beach, Florida, Mr. Wells was an exemplary businessman whose prosperity never surpassed his virtue. The Wells Leadership Award honors students who have displayed exceptional dedication to sharing the ISI mission with others. Recipients of the award capture the entrepreneurial spirit and intellectual and patriotic clarity that defined Mr. Wells and continue to define ISI's influence on American college campuses.

2012 Recipients

  • Sterling Beard
  • Terrence George
  • Gabrielle Speech

Richard and Helen DeVos Freedom Center Leadership Award

ISI recognizes exceptional undergraduate students with the Richard and Helen DeVos Freedom Center Leadership Award. Through their hard work and dedication, these student leaders have inspired members of their campus communities to discover and embrace the principles and virtues that make America free and prosperous. Their efforts have expanded ISI’s reach and furthered its mission to educate for liberty. ISI honors them for their service to the Institute and dedication to the principles of freedom that serve as the foundation of our country.

2012 Recipients

  • Joel Iliff
  • Samantha Leahy
  • Kelsey Rupp

Charles H. Hoeflich Lifetime Achievement Award

ISI's lifetime achievement award is named after Charles H. Hoeflich (1914−2011), longtime president of the Univest Corporation and a founding member of ISI's Board of Trustees. For nearly sixty years, Mr. Hoeflich served as a moral, financial, and practical guiding light to ISI and its leadership.

2013 Recipient of the Charles H. Hoeflich Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Lee Edwards

Lee Edwards, PhD, is a leading historian of American conservatism. He is the author or editor of more than twenty books, including William F. Buckley: The Maker of a Movement (ISI Books), The Conservative Revolution, The Essential Ronald Reagan, and Goldwater: The Man Who Made a Revolution, as well as histories of ISI, the Heritage Foundation, and Grove City College. Dr. Edwards is Distinguished Fellow in Conservative Thought at the Heritage Foundation, chairman of the Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation, and adjunct professor of politics at the Catholic University of America. He lives in Alexandria, Virginia, with his wife, Anne.

The Yale Club of New York City

The eighth annual Dinner for Western Civilization will be held at The Yale Club of New York City located at 50 Vanderbilt Avenue, steps from Grand Central Station.

The The Yale Club of New York City was designed in 1915 by James Gamble Rogers, architect of Yale’s Sterling Memorial Library as well as the Harkness Quad and Tower. Labeled as the largest private club in the world, The Yale Club of New York City is an impressive 22-story neoclassical clubhouse which combines traditional elegance with contemporary amenities.


A block of rooms has been reserved for ISI guests at the Yale Club of New York City. Space is limited, so reserve your accommodations for the dinner today! Mention “ISI” to be included in our special room block. The Club's phone number is (212) 716-2100.

In the event all rooms become occupied, please call (302) 524-6143 for help making arrangements.

Thursday, October 24, 2013

3:30 pm

Host Committee Roundtable

The Host Committee Roundtable is an exciting new component of the Dinner for Western Civilization’s schedule of events, exclusively for Host Committee sponsors and current William F. Buckley Jr. Society members. Supporters will engage in a serious intellectual dialogue with Donald Kagan on the value of teaching Western civilization and its importance in creating principled and effective future leaders. To be included in this program, join the Host Committee today! Reading materials will be sent to you prior to the discussion.

5:30 pm

President's Reception

6:00 pm

General Reception

7:00 pm

Dinner Program

Donald Kagan

Celebrated Historian and Author

Donald Kagan, PhD, is Sterling Professor Emeritus of Classics and History at Yale University. An outspoken defender of the importance of studying Western civilization, in his more than forty years at Yale he taught some of the most consistently popular courses, including “Introduction to Ancient Greek History” and “The Origins of War.” Professor Kagan is the acclaimed author of many books, including a four-volume history of the Peloponnesian War that has inspired comparisons to Edward Gibbon’s Roman history. He has received the National Humanities Medal and delivered the prestigious Jefferson Lecture for the National Endowment for the Humanities. 

Past Keynote Speakers

  • 2012

    Mike Lee Mike Lee United States Senator for Utah
  • 2011

    James Grant James Grant Leading market commentator, political economist, and historian of finance
  • 2010

    Edwin Meese Honorable Edwin Meese III 75th U.S. Attorney General
  • 2009

    Samuel Alito Honorable Samuel A. Alito, Jr. U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justice
  • 2008

    Joseph Epstein Joseph Epstein Author
  • 2007

    Bernard Lewis Bernard Lewis Cleveland E. Dodge Professor Emeritus of Near Eastern Studies, Princeton University
  • 2006

    Clarence Thomas Honorable Clarence Thomas U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justice

2013 Host Committee

  • Anonymous
  • Larry and Penny Arnn
  • Elizabeth R. Bramwell
  • Carole B. Brown
  • William and Helen Campbell
  • Dr. David Collins
  • Albin P. Dearing
  • Pete and Elise du Pont
  • Robert W. Ellis
  • Ed and Linda Feulner
  • Sean Fieler
  • Neal and Jane Freeman
  • Richard Gilder and Lois Chiles
  • Thomas S. Gordon
  • Robert and Pat Herbold
  • The Heritage Foundation
  • Roger Hertog
  • Lewis and Louise Lehrman
  • Liberty Fund
  • George and Sally Mayer
  • Ed and Ursula Meese
  • Alfred and Audrey Regnery
  • Chris and Syna Reid
  • Tom and Jordan Saunders
  • Nick St. George
  • Gene Wexler and Adrienne A. Price
  • Donald Wilkinson and Elaine Werner

If you have questions or special requests, please contact Tara Gallardy.

Phone: 302-524-6143